Thoughts on the day after …

There was a movie in back in the 1980s called “The Day After.”
It was about the day after a nuclear war.
This morning after is not that bad, but close.
That’s just the way I feel.

I can’t imagine how it feels for the kids and the coaches who invested emotion and so much more into this program.
Kids are pretty resilient, though, and I hope they’ll be back to playing Temple football in less than a week.
What is Temple football?
To me, it’s running the ball behind a line that averages 318-pounds with an NFL first-round draft choice. I love Matty Brown. Love the kid. He’s a change-of-pace back at best and a fill-in who can get you 226 in a pinch against Army.
I want my NFL first-rounder back on the field and, failing that, I would like to give a bigger back (Ahkeem Smith) a shot to carry the ball next week and chew some clock. Then throw play-action off the run.
Temple football on defense is getting after the quarterback and forcing turnovers and being fundamentally sound against the run.
I did not see much Temple football on either side of the ball last night.
This I do know, though.
For the second straight year, my favorite Owl, Bernard Pierce, missed the Ohio game.
Do I think he’s glass?
No.
I think this young man has had incredibly bad luck.
Do I think Temple wins with Bernard? Easily. This kid is a first-round NFL draft pick in April, 2012. Matty Brown? Love the kid, but IF he’s lucky … IF … he might get a free-agent invite.
That’s reality as I see it.
This trying to split carries between Matty and Bernard has been a disaster. Making Brown a feature back really is trying to fit a square peg into a round hole. Let’s put the square pegs in the square holes and the round ones in the round holes.
Pierce, when healthy, needs to stay in the game and develop a rhythm. That’s what he did so well for most of last year.
Let’s hope he’s healthy for the final two games.
I’m not one of those guys who refuse to give the other team props. My hat is off to Ohio and Frank Solich, who coached the tan pants off of Al Golden for the second year in a row. Ohio made plays and Temple didn’t. For that alone, Ohio deserved to win.
This season has come down to this:
Win at Miami and the Owls go to the GoDaddy.com bowl in Mobile, Ala.
Lose at Miami and the Owls might not go bowling anywhere.
I hope to see you folks in Mobile.
More than that, I want to see real Temple football again and soon.

13 thoughts on “Thoughts on the day after …

  1. I feel ya, brah. Sucks that pierce always misses the big ones..

  2. My favorite part is when Al Golden basically threw in the towel on the last play by putting nobody back to field the punt and at least give you a shot at a hail mary.He is such a terrible coach, but you'll probably need the loss of Pierce to the NFL to make you fully appreciate that statement.

  3. I'm sorry Mike but BP is not a first rounder. He is Injury Prone and that is why he has to split time.Put him in every down and he is gone by week six or seven. James Starks was the same way at Buffalo.No injuries and he (Starks)is a second round pick like Pierce would be a first or a second pick. Pierce is not 'glass', he is a tough talented athlete. Still at some point its gotta be more than bad luck.–As to Andy's point I think AG did all he could do regarding the punt. If you block the punt you are in position for a short Hail Mary (40 yards) if the punt gets off you need either a TD return or a FC and an 80 yard Hail Mary.Playing the numbers Golden did the right thing.–Perhaps the biggest indictment of how Golden ran the Owls this year is the fact Gerardi did not get the start in week one, a few more weeks of in game experience and he might be able to make a difference in this one.He looked superb against Akron and Bowling green and adequate against Buffalo and Kent. Think of what he would have been with six more games.

  4. Al is a great CEO and a savior of the Temple program. The kids he has in the program are solid young men.Game day coach?Let's just say he never reminded me of Wayne Hardin.Five men in the backfield on the first play of the game?That would be comical if he wasn't so sad.What do we do at practice, play wiffleball?By the way, if that wasn't pass interference on Gerardi's interception, I've never seen pass interference in my life.

  5. I meant to say "comical if it wasn't so sad" … instead of he. Maybe it was a Freudian slip.

  6. Mike: Really enjoy your blog. So sorry about last night. I was there with some friends, a solemn ride home.I'm interested in your thoughts about the chatter regarding Temple's possible joining of the Big East.

  7. The good news is that game day coaching often improves with experience and Golden is very young..The CEO thing, the recruiting… That tends to be instinct..Only two MAC teams would not take Golden in a second… Ohio and NIU because Kill has 3 bowls in three years and Solich has three MAC east crowns in the last five..

  8. Biggest game of the season and everything and everyone came up wrong for the Owls. Coaching, fans, weather, QB, RB, defense, special teams, officials you name it. The best part of the night was driving home from the game with my ten year old son and after letting me get how I was feeling off my chest, he pats me on the shoulder and tells me "Everything'll be okay, Dad" On the bright side the loss gets two trips to Detroit off my radar, bring on a trip to Boise or Bama or maybe even the Medowlands or heaven forbid back to DC.

  9. Not to play the song of the sore loser, but there were a couple calls at the beginning of the game that really should have gone Temple's way. That said, they didn't play well. At all. Gerardi was kinda sloppy. It looks like Brown took a beating (one of my non-Temple fb remarked, "aww…that poor little guy…" several times.) and the defense seemed dedicated to drive-by tackles or something. I think there were some excellent individual efforts (I liked Jarret, thought Kamara was good), but I feel like this game was just jinxed from the start. To jump on the wagon, Golden is a program builder, long-term kinda guy. Might be better to just leave game day to the coordinators or something.

  10. Not to play the song of the sore loser, but there were a couple calls at the beginning of the game that really should have gone Temple's way. That said, they didn't play well. At all. Gerardi was kinda sloppy. It looks like Brown took a beating (one of my non-Temple fb remarked, "aww…that poor little guy…" several times.) and the defense seemed dedicated to drive-by tackles or something. I think there were some excellent individual efforts (I liked Jarret, thought Kamara was good), but I feel like this game was just jinxed from the start. To jump on the wagon, Golden is a program builder, long-term kinda guy. Might be better to just leave game day to the coordinators or something.

  11. Tim,I think if we can get Bernard Pierce healthy to the extent that he played last year (10 of the 12 games), he is a first-round pick.If he keeps getting injured like this year, you are right … he's not.Now is that being injury-prone or just bad luck?When a Central Michigan linebacker steps on your hand while you are out of bounds, that's bad luck.When a Penn State defender falls backward on your ankle, that's bad luck.As to my thoughts on being in the Big East … is Temple more like Rutgers, Syracuse and Cincy than it is like CMU, WMU and EMU?Heck yeah.Temple belongs with Eastern schools so the TU admin should do everything they can to get back in the BE. Temple would be dynamite THIS year in the BE in both hoops and football.Plus, matching wits with Greg Schiano is not the same as matching wits with Solich and Kill.Solich and Kill are better coaches than Schiano and Randy Edsall.

  12. "Plus, matching wits with Greg Schiano is not the same as matching wits with Solich and Kill. Solich and Kill are better coaches than Schiano and Randy Edsall."LOL… So true!

  13. Would it be a good idea to go back to the Big East? Does it fit the budget when they don't draw well and were thrown out once? The MAC and A-10 seem to be having your cake and eating it too.

Leave a Reply

