Addazio’s loyalty his most endearing trait

I think Steve Addazio will be more loyal to our kids than Al Golden.

Something Steve Addazio said at this morning’s press conference really grabbed me and gave me better insight into the person he is.
It had nothing to do with Temple and everything to do with Steve Addazio the person.
He mentioned Florida.
In a 40-minute press conference when he was introduced as the new head coach at the University of Miami, Al Golden did not mention Temple once.
That snub by Golden really gored my goat.
Heck, if I was Golden I might have said:
“I want to thank Bernard Pierce,who gave me my two biggest wins, against UConn and Navy, and I want  to thank Adam DiMichele, without whom I would not have won nine games in my second and third seasons. Most of all, I want to thank my Temple kids.”
The first part of that would have been true and the second part of that would have been nice. That he said neither gave you a glimpse into Al Golden the man.

There is no doubt in my mind that if the Owls would have been fortunate enough to play in the New Orleans Bowl, Golden would have already flown the coup and taken half the staff with him before the bowl game and left the Owls with Matt Rhule and two grad assistants coaching against Troy


I always thought Al Golden looked after Al Golden first and Temple a distant second.
There is no doubt in my mind that if the Owls would have been fortunate enough to play in the New Orleans Bowl, Golden would have already flown the coup and taken half the staff with him before the bowl game and left the Owls with Matt Rhule and two grad assistants coaching against Troy.
No doubt whatsoever.
I like Steve Addazio The Man better.
Can Steve coach?
We won’t find out until the Villanova game nine months from now.
Temple returns 14 starters from a team that beat a BCS league chanpion and won eight games. Villanova loses 16 starters from an FCS team that lost six games.
If Temple doesn’t hammer the living shit (excuse my French) out of Villanova, Addazio can’t coach worth a damn. If Temple wins, 35-14, he’s a good coach.
If Temple wins, 55-3, he’s a great coach.
I’m hoping for greatness.
He already earned my respect as a man on Thursday with some casual offhand remarks he made about his Florida kids.
Addazio mentioned Florida a few times which was, to me, a good thing and bodes well for his future loyalty to Temple.
That tugged me at the heartstrings.
He mentioned the opportunity Urban Meyer gave him to run the program and thanked him for it.
Most of all, he mentioned the special bond he had with his players that dicates he coach them one more time in the Outback Bowl.
“I’m getting ready for a bowl game,” Addazio said. “I’ve got a bunch of players anxious to get started and I owe that to them and to the University of Florida to be there with them.”
Could you imagine Al Golden saying the same thing about his Temple players and coaching them in a bowl game after he got the job at Miami?
I didn’t think you could.

27 thoughts on “Addazio’s loyalty his most endearing trait

  1. Mike,Any idea why Tom Bradley was looked over once again? I feel like if they decided to hire a Coordinator with no Head Coach experience then why not hire Bradley who has 32 years at PSU and knows this area more than anyone when it comes to recruiting. I'll admit that Addazio is beginning to grow on me, despite all the negative things that are said about him.

  2. Mike, did AG fold the tent when BP went down with the hamstring? would AG be the coach of Miami today had we won the last two games and gone to a bowl? I don't think so, and I think AG did all could to wave off bowl committee members. give him credit for picking us off the floor but no love lost here. Addazio must bring some FLA speed this way

  3. Bradley came across as a dead fish in the interview session.This guy came across as a dynamo.AG did fold the tents up.If we had been selected for a bowl, AG would have been outta here to Miami, taken MDO and half the staff with and we'd have been left with Matt Rhule and two grad assistants coaching us against Troy.I already like this guy in that he's coaching his Florida kids.I hope he's that loyal to our kids and I think he will be.

  4. This comment has been removed by the author.

  5. We might be a great coach but he'll be trying to use Florida's system with Temple recruits. No telling how these kids will fit into the Offense he wants to run. You also gotta hope he brings in a solid Def. coordinator because Positional coordinators who move up to HC jobs tend to focus more on what they know than the other side of the ball. I like the guy's enthusiams though. It's real and that's a great sign. That and having N.E. roots plus Florida contacts. Best case Temple becomes like a Boise or TCU like Golden touted. BTW….Can't blame AG for going to Miami. It's a great job.

  6. I may be wrong, but I don't see Steve applying for jobs after his first and second year at Temple, like Al did.I agree Al deserves all the credit for turning around the program, but he had a more wandering eye than Charlie Sheen. If getting the Miami job meant not coaching Temple in a bowl game, there's no doubt what he would have done.I'm not going to miss that aspect of Al at all.Great props to Steve for keeping his Florida ocmmitment. Great props to Temple for understanding it.

  7. Time will certainly tell as with most new hires. He's a proven recruiter, he's passionate, loyal & is a motivator. He has already stated that he will build his O&D around the strength of his players, rather than trying to fit them into a system. Sometimes a 2ndchance with a new program is just what the Dr. ordered; just ask M. Vick & the Eagles. rb24

  8. very well-said, rb24. i like the vick analogy.

  9. First off, love your blog. It's such a shame that Temple football isn't covered more often.Secondly, I had my doubts as well. I checked out the clips from his presser, read a few articles, and I'm now pretty pumped. You summarized why. Al Golden, at the end of the day, was a great program builder who had serious deficiencies in gameday coaching and, ultimately, with being loyal to his own program. I completely forgot how often his name would be floated in the media.With rumors that Paterno may (15 years too late) finally step down after the bowl game, rumors buttressed by Bradley actively looking for a HC position at Temple, it'd be interesting if karma didn't bite AG on his proverbial ass. Jump at Miami, miss out on his dream job.

  10. Tbanks for the kind words, Dylan.I heard that the kids were none too happy with Golden at his going away speech and that D'Onofrio had to get up there and calm them down.Wouldn't it be ironic if Temple met Miami in a bowl game next year and the fired-up Owls knock the Canes and Golden on his proverbial and literal ass?With these lousy MAC tie-ins, that's too big a dream to dream unlesss Daz and Golden can go 12-0.

  11. That would be something, wouldn't? I heard the same as well. I lived with a former player, who was there for the first year of the Golden transition. Loved him, but as the years grew on, I think some teammates understood the "me first" perspective Golden might have had.Of course, this entire discussion is moot if Addazio does the same thing. But, I don't think he will. He was so fired up, so excited, and like you said–he mentioned his old school! How Golden could not mention Temple once is an absolute affront to myself as a fan and alum, the team he left behind, and Bill Bradshaw, who gave him this chance and let him really show his coaching chops.BTW, I would have loved, loved, and loved Arians. But alas, it's hard for a coach to go from the NFL down when they find success in the NFL. Unless you lose (Carroll), you usually stay up there in the bigs. What really interested me was the fact Daz said he was going to evaluate the team and then decide what system to use. That's vital. Too often coaches–particularly in the NCAA–put their square pegs (players) into round holes (prebuilt systems). Look at UM under RichRod. Classic, classic example. By sitting back and seeing what they have, and what can be facilitate those talents, I can see a big improvement with the offense. Because let's face it, this year aside, Florida was phenomenal offensively in the BEST division of college football.Any fan not excited by that doesn't have a pulse if you ask me!

  12. Maybe the "new guy" takes Temple into the ACC in 5 years or so.

  13. First I love this site…I can only wish there was more. But I think TFF is being hard on Golden, thank God we can talk about this stuff and its because of him. If he did a shitty job this would be a non factor and more guys like Dickerson would be getting hired. Like it or not it did turn around under him, and yes I don't like when coaches leave b4 the bowls – but it happens everywhere. and maybe this just shows what kind of guy we are getting in return??? However you look at it Golden did do good now I just hope DAZ is better and can take this program now off the ground to better heights and MAC championships and better bowl games and TU becomes really relevant in college football and that confer. want to add them now…In short I am a huge fan of Temple and everything the Univ. stands for and I want this to go to new levels very badly….Keep up the good work TFF…ANY tailgates AT HOME GAMES gonna be scheduled this year, be great to start getting guys together…

  14. I don't think I'm being THAT hard on Golden. I gave him his props. I largely (with the exception of the Navy fumble) never hammered him.But when you tell the most RECENT recruits that you are not looking for a job, don't worry, I'm coming back, don't believe what you read in the papers, blah, blah, blah and then you allow your name to be floated for Boston College (first year), UCLA (second year), Tenn., East Carolina, Cincy, Notre Dame, Penn State and now Miami that's a little disengenous to me.For want of a better word, it smacks of being a phony.No wonder the Temple kids in the room were so pissed off on Sunday night a week ago.Many of those kids told me Golden flat-out lied to them.I hope Addazio is the coach I wanted at Temple all along, a guy who wants to be here for the long haul.I think he does.

  15. I read an article about TCU and how the coach tapped into the alumni to jumpstart fan interest. I hope Addazio quickly learns how to generate interest and fan loyalty. The Penn St game next year is a "home game" but 40 thousand of the 50 thousand fans will be rooting for Penn St! Addazio has to reach out and callout the Philadelphia media. Bradshaw's selection criteria failed to recognize the other part of head coaching in big time programs – an important part of the job is to generate and sustain the fan base! This is Philly, "if you build it they won't come". Back to back good teams and winning records and we still can't put 30K in the stands. Addazio may turn out to be a good coach and produce winning teams, but Temple needs a great coach with the ability to inspire the alumni and local community.

  16. After hearing Addazio on Thursday, I think he's going to embrace the alumni so hard he's going to break a few ribs.There were 70K at the last Temple vs. PSU game at the Linc. I have no doubt there will be 70K in 2011.Last time, there were 25K Temple, 45K PSU fans.My goal is to make it like it was in 1975 when the crowd was split:30K waving cherry and white pom-poms, 30K waving blue and white pom-poms.It's going to take a lot of embracing and a 55-3/35-14-type beatdown of Villanova in the opener to generate that kind of TU enthusiasm.

  17. It's incredibly disingenuous to suggest or say, after all he has done for the Temple football program, that Al Golden would have done this and Al Golden would have done that and Al Golden is a rat fink. Some people need to give that one a rest. He was a terrific coach for Temple, in all aspects, period! As for him not mentioning Temple and Addazio mentioning Florida, this is all much ado about nothing. If I came from a BCS championship team, your damn right I'm going to mention them and give my thanks! As for Al Golden, I'm not sure he needs to have the same statement as he's going from smaller to bigger. How much gratitude do you need from the guy? It's disingenuous and a waste of time to love him up and down and then hate him when he leaves. By the way, while I thought the hiring of Fran Dunphy and Golden were inspired hires, I'm a little wary about the coronation of Addazio. Golden understood the subtleties that were needed to shepherd this program and he also had a great deal of creativity in marshaling his plan and goals. If Addazio even has half the creativity, Temple will be fine. My question is, will academics and civic programs be maintained for student athletes or do we regress. Al Golden understood that this was not a compromise and in fact, was a necessary component to success on the field. Will players be instructed to sit in the front rows of classes? Will there be summer football camps and the local 215 program that Golden successfully installed and implemented? Will players be given books from authors like WEB Dubois, etc, (a little stroke of genius that Golden borrowed from Phil Jackson) and will players be lectured and presented various models of success by CEOs, business leaders, celebrities, and professional football players / coaches? Are the players going to continue to groove together on the sidelines to show support for the team – Al Golden, ever the sports psych major, picked this one right out of "Remember the Titans" playbook and it was great! I wonder if Addazio sees value in this type of team building camaraderie approach? Is Addazio intense and passionate or is he just hostile? And is his "passion" the right kind of passion for our growing program? Is he all bluster without a unique plan? Because Temple is a unique place and needs a very well thought out plan. And the last thing we need is a guy who doesn't get it. Jerry Berndt didn't get it, and neither did Bobby Wallace. (Bobby Wallace in North Philly – are you kidding me??) Al Golden did understand and he brought the right recipe for success. It was the hard road, but it was the high road. It was the right road. Is Addazio too old school and far gone to grasp this? We shall see.

  18. Temple did as much for Al Golden as Al Golden did for Temple … and that's a lot in both cases.You can believe Al would have coached in a bowl. I don't think he would have and that's OK because most coaches don't coach their past teams in bowls.The fact that Addazio is coaching his prior team and did thank his prior employer speaks very well for Addazio IMHO.Merry Christmas.

  19. I hear what you're saying. But you can't make hypotheticals and then suggest them as fact to fit your argument. You're better than that. We see too much of that kind of reasoning and irrationality on other blogs and message boards. For example, I've read from people on Temple's Cherry and White page(from a former player, no less) that Al Golden was "arrogant" and thumbed his nose at the program and he's glad that Al's finally gone. I mean, what planet is this guy on? To suggest that Al Golden was in some way, "arrogant" is utterly ridiculous. As far as I'm concerned, Al parted the freaking Red Sea in North Philadelphia! Sounded like the former player had an agenda, actually, and wasn't thinking rationally. And if Al was outspoken to university officials about program facilities (e.g. on campus stadium, etc), who really cares. University officals, by and large, loved him and are grateful to him for not only taking the program to new heights, but building that "house of brick" from which to move forward and prosper. But good luck to Coach Addazio – I only hope he sees the subtleties that Al did and has the creativity that Al had.

  20. I don't think Al was arrogant and I don't think he thumbed his nose at the program. Let's just say that the parting was not as clean a break as I wanted, that's all. The season ended badly and I don't think that was Al's fault, unless you consider failure to recruit an elite backup tailback Al's fault. He could not have plugged all the leaks in the program in five years and backup running back was a leak.He did a great job.He got us to a bowl game where, miracle of miracles, 20K Owl fans traveled to support.He beat a Navy team that won double digits and hammered Missouri in a bowl.He beat UConn by two touchdowns, which is going to keep Temple football relevent on New Year's Day.Now it's up to Steve to do the things Al couldn't or didn't do:1) Win the MAC East2) Beat a winning MAC team3) Beat the crap out of Villanova4) Beat Penn State5) Win a bowl game6) win the MACNone of those accomplishments would have been possible without Al Golden putting the bricks up.

  21. Totally agreed! And let's add one more thing to your list: Win so much that we are able to transition to a better and more competitive conference! And who knows, maybe after all of 20/20 is complete, dare I wish an on campus stadium? Take care.

  22. If we have an on-campus stadium, it better seat around 50K or we're doomed to playing mid-major football forever.The one thing I like about our contract with the Linc is that we keep Villanova out until 2019 AND it's big enough for BCS conference (i.e., the Big East, ACC) purposes.We can't even think about an on-campus stadium until we pump in 35K bodies on a regular basis into the Linc.

  23. I'm not so sure about that. Look at UCONN's stadium – the capacity is 40 thousand. I think we can get by with 35-40 thousand. And if our football team is progressing like we hope it would, it's not unrealistic by the year 2022, for example, to have an on campus stadium. Again, we have to be patient and wait until Temple's 2020 capital project plan is fully implemented. The university clearly has priorities in these projects. It would be silly and a bad use of government money to build a stadium now and ignore the need for better academic facilities and housing. In fact, once you have the housing issue settled, and you've got the potential for more bodies to inhabit the stadium, you can then begin to think about a massive capitol project like a stadium. But again, this is an idea that should be on the back-burner. As far as being considered for a better and more competitive conference, I don't think you have to have an on campus stadium. We just have to show that we're for real – winning consistently, and as you suggested, putting the requisite amount of bodies in the Linc. If we do, I think it's entirely possible that within the next five years, we'll be invited into a power conference. By the way, speaking of capitol projects, what we should all be excited about is that the university will, in all liklihood, ad an addition to Edberg-Olsen Hall in the very near future. Also, as far as Nova is concerned, and you probably know this, my understanding is that the Big East has already invited Nova and they have to make a decision. And they could play in the Philly Union soccer stadium (about a 20 thousand seater) or the like. The NCAA requires at least an average of 15 thousand bodies per game over a two year period. Seems achievable for Nova. As it does for us.

  24. I'm not so sure about that. Look at UCONN's stadium – the capacity is 40 thousand. I think we can get by with 35-40 thousand. And if our football team is progressing like we hope it would, it's not unrealistic by the year 2022, for example, to have an on campus stadium. Again, we have to be patient and wait until Temple's 2020 capital project plan is fully implemented. The university clearly has priorities in these projects. It would be silly and a bad use of government money to build a stadium now and ignore the need for better academic facilities and housing. In fact, once you have the housing issue settled, and you've got the potential for more bodies to inhabit the stadium, you can then begin to think about a massive capitol project like a stadium. But again, this is an idea that should be on the back-burner. As far as being considered for a better and more competitive conference, I don't think you have to have an on campus stadium. We just have to show that we're for real – winning consistently, and as you suggested, putting the requisite amount of bodies in the Linc. If we do, I think it's entirely possible that within the next five years, we'll be invited into a power conference. By the way, speaking of capitol projects, what we should all be excited about is that the university will, in all liklihood, ad an addition to Edberg-Olsen Hall in the very near future. Also, as far as Nova is concerned, and you probably know this, my understanding is that the Big East has already invited Nova and they have to make a decision. And they could play in the Philly Union soccer stadium (about a 20 thousand seater) or the like. The NCAA requires at least an average of 15 thousand bodies per game over a two year period. Seems achievable for Nova. As it does for us.

  25. I'm not so sure about that. Look at UCONN's stadium – the capacity is 40 thousand. I think we can get by with 35-40 thousand. And if our football team is progressing like we hope it would, it's not unrealistic by the year 2022, for example, to have an on campus stadium. Again, we have to be patient and wait until Temple's 2020 capital project plan is fully implemented. The university clearly has priorities in these projects. It would be silly and a bad use of government money to build a stadium now and ignore the need for better academic facilities and housing. In fact, once you have the housing issue settled, and you've got the potential for more bodies to inhabit the stadium, you can then begin to think about a massive capitol project like a stadium. But again, this is an idea that should be on the back-burner. As far as being considered for a better and more competitive conference, I don't think you have to have an on campus stadium. We just have to show that we're for real – winning consistently, and as you suggested, putting the requisite amount of bodies in the Linc. If we do, I think it's entirely possible that within the next five years, we'll be invited into a power conference. By the way, speaking of capitol projects, what we should all be excited about is that the university will, in all liklihood, ad an addition to Edberg-Olsen Hall in the very near future. Also, as far as Nova is concerned, and you probably know this, my understanding is that the Big East has already invited Nova and they have to make a decision. And they could play in the Philly Union soccer stadium (about a 20 thousand seater) or the like. The NCAA requires at least an average of 15 thousand bodies per game over a two year period. Seems achievable for Nova. As it does for us.

  26. I'm not so sure about that. Look at UCONN's stadium – the capacity is 40 thousand. I think we can get by with 35-40 thousand. And if our football team is progressing like we hope it would, it's not unrealistic by the year 2022, for example, to have an on campus stadium. Again, we have to be patient and wait until Temple's 2020 capital project plan is fully implemented. The university clearly has priorities in these projects. It would be silly and a bad use of government money to build a stadium now and ignore the need for better academic facilities and housing. In fact, once you have the housing issue settled, and you've got the potential for more bodies to inhabit the stadium, you can then begin to think about a massive capitol project like a stadium. But again, this is an idea that should be on the back-burner. As far as being considered for a better and more competitive conference, I don't think you have to have an on campus stadium. We just have to show that we're for real – winning consistently, and as you suggested, putting the requisite amount of bodies in the Linc. If we do, I think it's entirely possible that within the next five years, we'll be invited into a power conference. By the way, speaking of capitol projects, what we should all be excited about is that the university will, in all liklihood, ad an addition to Edberg-Olsen Hall in the very near future. Also, as far as Nova is concerned, and you probably know this, my understanding is that the Big East has already invited Nova and they have to make a decision. And they could play in the Philly Union soccer stadium (about a 20 thousand seater) or the like. The NCAA requires at least an average of 15 thousand bodies per game over a two year period. Seems achievable for Nova. As it does for us.

  27. Good point about UConn. I was thinking RU, WVU, Pitt, 'Cuse … all have stadiums over 50K. UConn and Cincy seem to be the exception.Maybe the new Temple Stadium (I like that name the best) can be like Citizens' Bank Park or PNB Park, 42-46K range.To do that, though, I think the Board of Trustees need to have a vote of confidence by the Temple community and that vote needs to be made with their feet with a significant increased presence at LFF over the next couple of years, not counting PSU.

Leave a Reply

