What’s not to like about these Owligators?

Mike Edwards’ great photo captures Daz smiling ear to ear after his shower.

Watching that big smile on Steve Addazio’s face after being dumped with Gatorade told the whole story of last night’s 42-7 destruction of Villanova.
Gator Aid has arrived at Temple and it’s a pretty tasty drink.
All the key upper management in this program held key upper management jobs at the University of Florida.
Steve Addazio was Florida’s head coach for awhile (most people don’t remember that). Chuck Heater was defensive coordinator (officially, co-defensive coordinator but that was in name only). Scot Loeffler was the quarterbacks coach.
All showed their stuff impressively on Thursday night.

Addazio’s motivational skills + Loeffler’s play-calling + Heater’s fire-eaters = sky’s the limit

This is what an SEC staff can do to a 1AA staff, albeit probably the best 1AA staff out there.
This is what an SEC staff can do to the rest of the MAC.

Dare I say, this is what an SEC staff can do to a nearly 90-year-old head coach in a couple of weeks.
As I said in an earlier post, let’s go to the blackboard for Temple’s successful formula this season:
Addazio’s strength is as a CEO and a motivator.
Heater has impeccable credentials as a defensive coordinator.
Loeffler developed Tom Brady and Tim Tebow.
All showed their strengths on Thursday night.

The CEO in Addazio allowed Heater to run the defense and Loeffler to run the offense.
That read belly option Ohio abused Golden with the past two years?
Well, Villanova coach Andy Talley made it a staple of the Wildcat offense last night and Heater’s fire-eaters were not even fazed by it.
On offense, what have I been telling Golden and Matt Rhule for the past two years?
Establish the run behind franchise back Bernard Pierce, then use play-action off fakes to Pierce to find open receivers roaming through enemy secondaries.
Something that was so difficult for Golden to grasp Loeffler got right away.
The formula for Temple’s success in 2011 is simple:
Addazio’s motivational skills + Loeffler’s play-calling + Heater’s fire-eaters = sky’s the limit.
Let’s not get ahead of ourselves here, though.
That 90-year-old (OK, 80-something) guy is known for saying a team improves most during the season between its first and second games.
If so, Akron better watch out.
It may take a week or two or three, but this notion that “Temple will take a step back without Al Golden” will be disabused in a hurry.

21 thoughts on “What’s not to like about these Owligators?

  1. Mike,Right on as usual. You could see a huge change in Mike G, and that was because of coaching. In fact, it was the best we looked since the old Lee Saltz to Willie Marshall plays. I'm very excited for the rest of the season, as the sky's the limit!

  2. The MAC is undefeated right now! I did not see the game – but from what I have read Nova was out coached and "athleted" soundly. Akron will be a little better than Nova, another nice tune up game. I want to see the SEC coaching vs JoPa. Go MAC.

  3. I think Villanova beats Akron, 14-7, 14-10, something like that, on a neutral field. That doesn't mean Temple beats Akron in the Rubber Bowl, 42-7. Temple might win something like 31-10 or 35-14, something like that. I don't see Akron being better than Villanova.

  4. Great comment about Saltz to Marshall. Also remember the bomb Willie dropped vs. Boston College that would have won that big game. Funny. That day Temple was on Channel 6, noon game, vs. Penn State-Maryland on Channel 3, noon game. Temple's TV ratings that day: 7.9Penn State's TV ratings that day: 6.5Our fans love to sit on their asses and hold that remote. If I read one more comment about how Owl fans were so impressed watching that game on ESPN3 last night, I'll scream.The last one I read was a guy in Perkasie watching the game on TV.Perkasie.c'mon down, Owl fans.It's much better in the stadium.

  5. I'm very pleased with the result – I've been a season ticket holder for the last 5 years, and this has been the most convincing win I've seen. But a good D1 team is supposed to beat Villanova 42-7 even on a DOWN year. There were a lot of positives in their play, but a couple things concerned me:1. The protection of the QB – Nova got to the QB too may times, when PSU comes to town they better be blocking better.2. The blocked punt was a concern, since punt protection seems to be a recurring theme the last few years. If they want to win the MAC, they need to keep Pierce healthy, not turn the ball over, and play solid defense. If they want to beat PSU in two weeks, they need to be perfect not just good.Anyway, I'm looking forward to an exciting season. Always enjoy the blog!

  6. I saw the game on ESPN3. But I saw it today. Villanova isn't a very good team right now and like you said Akron is probably worse. So it's hard to tell how good this team is. However, no turnovers, very few penalties and most of those were during the third quarter when they lost their focus, and no "dog stare" (I hate the dog stare).The offense ran like a well-oiled machine. The defense was dominating. I'll tell you though I was a little concerned during Villanova's first two or three drives. That Talley had a good plan in place, he just didn't have the players that could execute it. That will change. Didn't see you and couldn't hear you with the noise of the crowd.

  7. I saw the game on ESPN3. But I saw it today. Villanova isn't a very good team right now and like you said Akron is probably worse. So it's hard to tell how good this team is. However, no turnovers, very few penalties and most of those were during the third quarter when they lost their focus, and no "dog stare" (I hate the dog stare).The offense ran like a well-oiled machine. The defense was dominating. I'll tell you though I was a little concerned during Villanova's first two or three drives. That Talley had a good plan in place, he just didn't have the players that could execute it. That will change. Didn't see you and couldn't hear you with the noise of the crowd.

  8. I was at the game and it was a great atmosphere… If there was 1 weakness I saw, it would definitely have to be the fact that we allowed 3 sacks; especially in a game where we controlled the line of scrimmage and only threw 20 passes. Overall great game, but we have to increase that pass protection against a bigger faster stronger D-line in Penn State. T FOR TEMPLE UUUUU, UUUUNIVERSITTTTTYY!

  9. I had to teach last night (Temple), so I couldn't make this one like I did last year (hope I can earn a pass since I spent some time talking it to my students, haha.) Spent the 2nd half scurrying between radio, TV and phone for the game. BP looked real good last night, fast and elusive, though I can't wait till we get to see some more of his strength. I also loved that they used Matt Brown as relief, instead of trying to use him full-time or not-at-all. Girardi was looking good too, lot more confident. The nay-sayers are already starting with the "it's FCS." Can't wait to see how they explain away PSU and MD.

  10. They looked bigger, faster, and stronger than I have ever seen a Temple team. Loved the first Kroboth interception. Pierce was unstoppable. My only complaints are that they need to protect the QB better and there were too many carries for Matt Brown. Brown should be limited to a couple carries at most. I noticed much more discipline and fire in this team. Not many stupid penalties come to mind, which I thought were endemic to the Golden-coached team. Maybe I am getting carried away, but could this team emerge as Boise State East? I know it is weaker Villanova than before, but I am pretty sure they are still an elite FCS team.

  11. Mike:I was at the game last night, great way to start the season. The comfortable lead, at times, gave me the opportunity to look away while the special teams were on the field. I would look up, wondering what the hell just happened.Is there work to be done on that front?

  12. Mike,BP is a first-round draft pick, that will be two years in a row and Owl goes in the first round. Our staff knows what they are doing – they are letting our guys do what the do best. They didn't ask Mike G to run the football, they let him do what he does best…, Matt Brown is better out of the backfield than in it – our coaches will find a way to showcase his abilities. The impressive thing about Heater was his ability to make adjustments during the game. Got off the train and checked into the CC Doubletree around 3pm. Stepped on the elevator and BP was in the back….., not quite as tall as I thought he would be but the kid was really focused, almost in a trance…., met one of our first year coaches – they are pumped and were genuinely excited to hear a class of '79 guy ride the train from DC to catch the first game. The Temple Band is fun to watch, and I'm not a band guy. Where do you tailgate?

  13. sorry, guys, i just posted eight comments now. …keep them coming … since I was at my fellow Ryan (and Temple) grad Amy's tailgate and had about eight of those egg things and 13 cc cookies and one of Mr. Coyer's pork sandwiches and one hot dog and a beer at Adrian Robinson's tailgate … err, I had to go for a three-hour run today.Just got back.Great posts.TFF is my fulltime job now and I will do my best with it.

  14. Great Job Mike!!!! keep up the great work with the site. Well I think we all got what we wanted last nite, in a nice solid win to start the season. The team looked very preparedand organized- something the new coaches also brought with them in their team structureof practice and game plans. Good crowd, good time and good win. Run Bernard Run

  15. Temple and Ohio appear to be the class of the East. Neither will be tested for another week – then we will know who the favorite will be. Love TFF – not even a Temple fan, just a MAC fan.

  16. Thanks. I am also a MAC fan. I was a MAC fan long before Temple got into the conference. I was a MAC fan when Big Ben QB'd Miami and I was a MAC fan when Northern Illinois won at Alabama.My only complaint with the MAC is this atrocious bowl lineup and that's why I think we should get out.I can accept Mobile, but no Temple fans will go to Boise or Detroit.CUSA has five great destinations.

  17. While I agree with your assesment of the MAC's poor bowl tie ins, I do not believe that Temple fans would not travel to Boise or Detroit or Birmingham Alabama for a bowl game. I was all set for the trip to Boise last season, up until the point where it didn't happen. Would I prefer that the MAC had better bowl tie ins, of course. But that's where it's the Owls job to have the kind of season that will make other bowls take notice of them and give them an at large berth.

  18. Anyone watch our new recruit Brandon Peoples rush for 91 yards and 2 TDs on only 9 carries today live on ESPN? They played Pittsburgh Central Catholic who is the #1 ranked AAAA school in the state. His Rugter recruit cousin Desmond Peoples ran for about 90 yards but needed almost 20 carries to do so. I like what I'm seeing recruiting wise. Hopefully Addazio was watching and offers Damion Jones-Moore who rushed for 156 today, and has only 2 offers from TOLEDO and OHIO!!!

  19. I know Temple fans as well. There won't be more than 200 at Akron, unfortunately. To expect more than that for a $635 round-trip flight to Boise is pure folly.On the other hand, I got hammered when I said AT LEAST 10K Temple fans would travel to D.C. and that turned out to be 20K. I was very proud of Temple fans that night, as I was at the Kent State game in 2009 (21K) and Bowling Green homecoming (23K) last year.Temple fans can really make me proud with a 30K showing at the PSU game on 9/17, which I now feel is probable. If so, I guarantee they will make more noise than the 40K PSU fans. If we ever got lucky and got a 35K/35K split, that would sound like a college football version of a Big Five game.What a wonderful afternoon that would be.

  20. The bowls are not great but CUSA would be an all sport invite. The football budget would double, with a slight return. The issue is the rest of the budget would explode. (not to mention what the western conference,Big 12 / WAC, shifting will do to them). Temple should try to be the "Boise of the East" and hold fast for the Big East. The cost to move up would not be much more than CUSA with some real benefits. Not to mention, the MAC looked good this first week. Strong outing. BGSU seems to of found a real RB. The east migh be pretty tough.

  21. I can't see BGSU being better than us this year, despite what it did at Idaho. Temple put up 41 points at Toledo a couple of years ago with Vaughn Charlton at QB and this temple team is far better than that one and Toledo is slightly improved from those days as well.Ohio looked good, but that was New Mexico State, not Arizona State and Chuck Heater knows how to stop a read option.

Leave a Reply

