"T"o"T"al Domination

“You think I’m going to miss playing in our first win over Penn State next year? No way
The pros can always wait. I’m having too much fun right now,” The Franchise seems to be saying.

There was one defining moment for me in today’s 37-15 Temple win over Wyoming and it is probably not one you will guess right away.
It was just a little picture, not the big one.
The Owls hoisting that New Mexico Bowl Clay Pot Trophy?
Yeah, good guess, but try again.

Rod Streater’s touchdown catch of Chris Coyer’s pass right before the half to make it 28-7?
Again, nice try.
Give up?
Ok.
I’ll tell you.
It was head coach Steve Addazio grabbing Matty Brown in a bear hug in the first half.
That said it all for me.
If every Owl had a heart as big as the one in Matty Brown’s body, Temple would be playing for the national championship on the second week of January instead of coming home with a New Mexico Bowl Trophy in the middle of December.
Brown was so upset coming out of the game after one play that he made it known.
Instead of yelling at him, Addazio took the moment to console him and tell him how much he was loved. Addazio wrapped him in a hug and walked him away, saying something gently in his ear that seemed to resonate with him.
That was an important moment for me and it should have been an important moment to every Owl fan.

A sweet T-shirt headed my way.

It was for this Owl fan.
We have the right guy leading this program and I for one hopes he stays for a long, long time and does not have the same kind of wandering eye the last guy had.
If  you are a Temple fan like me, this is one of the two greatest days of your life.
The other day came in 1979 when a fullback named Mark Bright ran over and through California for a 28-17 win in the Garden State Bowl.
This time, Total Domination came in the form of a 100-yard day by Bernard “The Franchise” Pierce and an offensive MVP trophy from quarterback Chris Coyer.
Of course, there was Chuck Heater’s defense.
It was there all year and it will be there next year as well.
This is just the start of something big at Temple and, if The Franchise stays next year, it will be a very big and fun season for not only him but for all of us and maybe, just maybe, a January bowl win to cap it.
Meanwhile, we know we have a coach who is so tuned in he knows little picture can be just as important as the big one.

16 thoughts on “"T"o"T"al Domination

  1. Well said, MG. Next year…10, 11 wins. 🙂 Rob Vaughn

  2. Thanks, Rob.You da man.No one represents Temple better than you do.I recommend everyone catch Rob anchoring the news every night on WFMZ Channel 69.1 Allentown (Channel 55 in Philly on my cable system and Channel 4 in Lehighton on my summer cable system).When Jim Gardner retires at Channel 6, Rob will slide right in there and no one will know the difference.:)

  3. Congrats to the TEAM today!!! what a great win for themselves and the program. To the TU fans this one is special for every reason. MG thanks for all you do for the program and the fans. I hope your day was wonderful. You have waited a long time for this and have stuck by the program thru thick and thin- enjoy. Can't wait for all the stories on this one. Congrats to coach Daz and the team, school and the fans its well deserved. GO TU

  4. When Temple was kicked out of the Big East, the BOT met to decide the fate of the program. Every supporter was given a few months time to make his feelings known. I did my part by sending all 17 BOT members a packet containing newspaper clippings and the reason I felt this program was worth keeping. Those letters made me start this blog and keep it going. The vote was 9-8 in favor of keeping the program. Today, the vote would be 17-0. No doubt. We started something back then, ut it took Bill Bradshaw, Al Golden and Steve Addazio to take the baton and run with it. It's a heckuva thing to watch.

  5. It was a great win today! I saw that the "attendance" was 25,762. Any word on how many people actually showed up? Any word on how many Temple fans were there?

  6. according to Harry Donahue on 1210AM, WPHT, "at least" 4,000 Temple fans. According to a couple of Wyoming media outlets, 8K Wyoming fans, 4K Temple fans and the rest were Albuquerque locals.If so, great job by all groups, especially the locals.In D.C., there were 20K Temple fans, about 2K UCLA fans and 1K locals.Seems to me the town of Albuquerque supports their bowl a lot better than D.C., and I liked my experience in D.C.

  7. also, crowd looked great on TV shows you what a 25K crowd can look like in a 37K stadium. 25K gets lost in a cavernous 70K pro stadium.

  8. TFF,I had no idea that the blogger 'Rob' was Rob Vaughn of WFMZ. I grew up watching Rob. He is truely a "Diamond in our own Backyard." He could have easily gone onto bigger markets over the years, but he stays in the Lehigh Valley. He is such a class act. Plus, I love it when he mentions the Owls in his broadcasts! (Rob, How 'bout a 'Cherry & White' tie on Monday's broadcast?)What a fun season. Can't wait until next year!

  9. From what I saw, being there, it looked like 12k wyoming fans (low estimate) and at least 6k Temple fans and a ton of Lobo fans that sat on the Temple sideline to root against Wyoming. Those fans were really awesome and supportive as their team is terrible. They LOVED the marching band, it got a standing ovation from just about every person in the stadium.

  10. 6,000 Temple fans? Wow. Heck, Villanova's high school gym doesn't seat more than that.also, Rob Vaughn is the best. Living in the Poconos three months a year, my local news TV station was always WFMZ. I was a big fan of his long before he first mentioned being a Temple Owl on the air. When he first did, I thought, "Damn. Temple Owls REALLY are everywhere."

  11. What a great win for Temple. I catch most Temple games in a sports bar in Birmingham which is maybe the only city in America where college football is, by far, the major sport. I am continually struck by how the reputation of Temple continues to morph. During the beat down of Wyoming most of the chatter around me was along the lines of…"yeah, doesn't surprise me…Temple is tough…damn that running back is good…" One thing I was especially glad for is that Temple avoided the curse of an SEC officiating crew. SEC football is good, the officiating is shockingly bad. That circus at the end of the Ohio bowl game surprised none of us who follow SEC teams. This year I've seen that crew (led by Penn Wagers) call three South Carolina games. It was brutal.

  12. I was proud of the Temple turn out, so glad I was there. It just shows you how much we love our Owls. Can't wait to see what that Temple turn out and the television ratings do for our at large bowl selection next season. Even when we win the MAC next year. What bowl wouldn't want to have us!?

  13. I am so happy that we managed to send at least 4000 fans to the game. That is great and shows that Owls are really everywhere. I couldn't attend the game but I bought and donated two tickets, hopefully some kids from New Mexico got to see what Temple Tuff is all about. Good job lads and MG great blog as always!

  14. I am really proud of our 4 to 6 thousand fans that went to New Mexico to watch the game. I couldn't attend the game but I donated two tickets and hope that some local New Mexico kids got a chance to see Temple Tuff up-close. I am a NYC Owl and went to Duke's bar to watch the game. Duke has hosted several Temple sporting events. It was an AWESOME time. About 25 people showed up to the game, after the game we started singing the Temple fight song and all of the non-Temple customers started clapping and singing along with us. The manager stated that he would be proud to make Duke's bar on 37th Street and 3rd Avenue the NYC home of Temple sports. The bars have flags from a sorts of schools, I told him that he would have to put up a Temple flag to get the distinction of being an official Temple sports bar and he said that he would be honored to do so.

  15. that is a GREAT story. Thanks for sharing it. If anybody has any photos of that party or any other Owl party, please send them to me at:templefootballforever@gmail.comor post it on your facebook page and send me the link.I will try to get up to Duke's the next time I try out for the Millionaire show. If I win the million, I will bring Meredith Viera with me (love her) …. 🙂

  16. Why can I never log on and post a freaking comment ahhhhh

Leave a Reply

