Auburn gets a great OC in Scot Loeffler

Scot Loeffler’s first press conference at Auburn starts at 0:30 timestamp.

If you are an Auburn football fan, you’ve got to be feeling pretty good today.
Heck, you might not know who Scot Loeffler is but, trust me, you’ve got to be feeling pretty good today.
The most unpopular guy on a struggling football offense is either the starting quarterback or the offensive coordinator.
Scot Loeffler was Temple’s offensive coordinator for one season and all you need to know is that every Owl fan loved the guy and the plays he called.

That came one year after EVERYBODY hated the guy who preceded him, Matt Rhule. (Well, everybody loved the guy but hated the plays he called and the overall offensive scheme, which was bleeped up for want of a better term.)
Rhule’s offense, broken into its most basic terms, was this:
First down _ Handoff to Bernard Pierce (or Matt Brown);
Second down _ Handoff to Bernard Pierce (or Matt Brown);
Third down _ Pass (usually resulting in a sack);
Fourth down _ Punt.
The second page of Matt Rhule’s playbook is illustrated in the graphic here. All you need to know is that the graphic was made by the most precocious 17-year-old Owl fan ever. And there was not one long-time Owl fan sitting in the stands who disagreed with him. The only person I came across who supported Rhule was the father of a Rhule recruit and I run into a lot of Owl fans. Even more importantly, I know what I see and smell and it didn’t pass the vision and smell test with Rhule.
Loeffler passed with flying colors.
For one year at least, Loeffler injected some imagination into the offense.

The Matt Rhule offense
Egad, passes on first down, a waggle to a talented tight end to open things up for an NFL running back.
Second down runs.
Touchdowns.
Who would have thought?

The Rhule Apologists  say it was because Al Golden was a micromanager.
I’m not buying it.
I sincerely hope that Addazio doesn’t promote Rhule to his old job. Matt would be much more valuable in the role of special teams’ head coach.
We need a new guy in charge of the offense.
Otherwise, it’ll be Matty Brown left, Matty Brown right and an incomplete pass on third down.
That’s not my idea of an offense.
Fortunately, it won’t be that way for Auburn fans this fall. I expect Loeffler will see what the defense gives him and take it.
I also, sadly, fully expect Daz to hire Matt Rhule as his new offensive coordinator. Rhule’s title was “co-offensive coordinator” this season if that’s any clue.
My fervent hope is that he does not change that to sole offensive coordinator.
Daz, your move. Show me you are a better CEO than Al Golden.



This play will work with Alex Jackson next season, too.



10 thoughts on “Auburn gets a great OC in Scot Loeffler

  1. Bruce Arians just retired from the NFL (aka, he was quietly asked to resign)…

  2. the hits keep coming… wonder how many recruits this costs us…. (do contracts not mean crap!? Though I dont know how long his contract was or what the terms were)

  3. I don't think this costs us any recruits. Daz is the main guy and he's staying long-term (said no to Illinois). Don't think bruce would come. I'd rather Daz hire someone from HIS past rather than Rhule, who has has known for only 1 year. Daz has many outstanding connections in both pro and college football.

  4. Bruce MIGHT come if he's assiatant head coach in waiting. I'd rather that title be reserved for Heater. I LOVE Heater. If someone came up to me and said, "Mike, we're taking either Heater or Loeffler and you've got to chose" I'd say, "nice knowing you, Scot."

  5. This has been a really bad off season. Pile even MORE pressure on the defense. 2012 has the potential to take a big step back to mediocrity. Rhule is not the answer, especially with the offence Addazio likes to run.

  6. Being a Temple fan down in Auburn, I can tell you that the reaction to the Loeffler hire has been mixed, and I think part of that has been due to where he's coming from, ie Temple. I'm telling them they're getting a really good coordinator, but the problem for Auburn is that their QB situation might have been worse than Temple's last year with who they have currently. If Auburn/Loeffler can find themselves a Coyer they should be ok, and their freshman Khiel Frazier might be it. But if not could be a long year one for Loeffler going up against LSU/Bama/A&M/UGA…

  7. Players win games but it takes coaches to notice who the players are.I'm still scratching my head over whose idea it was to play Chester Stewart for extended stretches.I wrote all off-season that if Temple had to play CS for any considerable length of time (like more than one game), TU wasn't winning any titles.That was from four years of CLOSE observation of CS outside the practice setting (where he obviously is Tom Brady). Like AI said, that was practice. All I saw was games.I'm just as convinced that if Matty Brown goes down and the replacement is either Kenny Harper, Jalen Fitzpatrick, Spencer Reid or Darius Johnson, Temple won't win the eight games the NCAA seemingly requires Temple (no other school) to be bowl eligible.

  8. Loeffler was not Temple Tuff. He's a mild mannered Midwesterner. Temple deserves a better fit who can recruit in the area. I agree that it took too long to yank CS. and SL did not impress me. Loeffler is hoping to get a coaching job in the Big 10, so Auburn is a stepping stone and Temple was just a chance to pad his resume. Temple will do better with whoever Addazio selects. I like Ralph Fridgen.

  9. Hey, I feel positive about this. We get Dobbs eligible, Chester graduates, Coyer looks great, Brown is durable, reload the O-line…..Why wouldn't a strong offensive coordinator want to be apart of this team?

  10. Here's one question I have for all of the Rhule apologists:If AG handcuffed MR's offensive genius, why did George DeLeonne look like freaking Sid Gillman in comparison to Rhule?Did AG take the handcuffs off GDL and put them on his college buddy MR?Doesn't make sense.GDL was a great offensive coordinator under AG.I rest my case.

Leave a Reply

