Matt Rhule Guarantees Win Over UCF

"Look, I'm not going to guarantee a win over you guys because I don't feel like blitzing Gilbert today, but I will guarantee a win over somebody before the season is out."

“Look, I’m not going to guarantee a win over you guys because I don’t feel like blitzing Gilbert today and maybe not Rutgers because winning by a QB sneak would be too easy, but I will guarantee a win over somebody before the season is out. I’m going to go big or go home, so it won’t be UConn.”

As you can see (hear), here, Matt Rhule “guarantees” a win over UCF on Saturday.

Don’t know about the wisdom of that comment, but I like people in sports who back up their comments. That’s part of the reason why I was a big fan of guys like Muhammad Ali and Joe Namath.

Temple coach Matt Ruhle

November 14, 2013

talking TU football and Chip Kelly/Eagles

Don’t think Muhammad Ali or Joe Namath ever had a 1-8 record, though, when they guaranteed anything.

The Matt Rhule Apologists have already spun the guarantee saying, “it was all in good fun.”

To me, the only “fun” is winning so I hope for Matt’s sake, the Temple players’ sakes and, most importantly, the long-suffering Temple fans’ sakes, the guarantee comes true. He says if the guarantee comes true, he’ll come back on WIP next week. He doesn’t say what will happen if it doesn’t. It’s near the end of this podcast:

Temple coach Matt Ruhle.

22 thoughts on “Matt Rhule Guarantees Win Over UCF

  1. Nice Guy, But Bad Decision Maker and Completely Inexperienced.

  2. Completely agree, Jay. Bill Bradshaw threw the hand grenade over his shoulder and destroyed the football program on the way out with this hire. The BEST … and I mean BEST … we can hope for is to do what Memphis did at the end of last year: Win the final three games, but the reality is that we only have a decent chance to win one.

  3. Well all the “RhuleAid” drinkers are pointing to 2015 so I guess to them 1-11, 2-10 is part of the revamping of the team ??? Plus all the young players in starting positions, I guess replacing all the young players who started last year. I think we’re going to be hearing this for the next couple of seasons. Don’t think Temple has any chance for the upset here, even if it’s close this incompetent or in the case of Phil Snow, washed up, coaching staff will find some way to blow it. Why do I think PJ Walker is Henry Burris or Walter Washington all over again

  4. Ron Dickerson/Matt Rhule: Same “type” coach. Neither could coach their way out of a paper bag, both better recruiters than coaches. I remember feeling very sorry for Henry Burris, whose chief memory of four years here is running for his life. Same thing could happen to P.J., a great talent who would really flourish with someone who knew what he was doing. I could see him running for his life when the people recruiting OL prospects against us point to Fordham and Idaho as evidence this guy can’t coach and they start looking elsewhere. I hope that doesn’t turn out to be the case, but that’s exactly where we appear to be headed.

  5. I am pretty sure that Temple just lost the game with about 9 minutes left to go, calling it now. We have been moving the ball all game and with 9 minutes left we decide to go conservative. WE ARE ONLY UP BY SIX AND UCF IS A VERY EXPLOSIVE TEAM! We can’t let up. This is so stupid.

    • Like I said. Real smart move. Take your freshman QB out of his rhythm by going conservative and then asking him to lead a comeback. Ugh these coaches are idiots.

  6. I am a Matt Rhule Apologist. But this even tests my patience. Completely understand the rancor.

  7. This better be the nail in Snow’s coffin. The offense can not be asked to do any more. Snow is failing these kids and it is disgusting. And Rhule’s allowing Snow to stick around is equally disgusting.

    • The phrase “failing these kids” is accurate and eloquent as it relates to Snow. He also is failing Rhule who does have the markings of a good head coach. I hope it’s here…but it won’t be with Snow.

      • SUOwls82, my issue with the Matt Rhule Apologist crowd is not that they support the guy it’s what seems to be this blind faith without what appears to be not a lot of basis in facts. For me, I don’t really know but I think next year will tell a lot. If Temple starts finishing games like today, not losing to teams like Idaho and being competitive with the top of the conference then I say it looks like he could be a good HC. I need to stop seeing things like wasting a time out late in the game like today, no or less calls like giving the ball to one of your smaller backs 5 yards deep in the end zone that led to a safety today or a 4 and inches call with a 6 yard deep in the backfield hand off.
        As I’ve said enough times here one of the biggest things Rhule can do to help himself is tell Phil Snow he has repaid any favor he owes him and get a good DC in here next year.
        Some facts about Snow since 2001 his first year as UCLA DC:
        1. First year at UCLA he improved the points against from 31.5 in 2000 to 20 ppg. Second year that climbed back up to 25 ppg. Dropped from 2nd to 4th in PAC-10 scoring defense.
        2. First year at Washington as DC (2003) basically no improvement in scoring defense then before he came on board, 26 ppg 2002 and 2003. 6th in the PAC-10. Second year (2004) Washington’s defense was giving up 30 ppg. Last in scoring defense in the PAC-10
        3. First year at EMU as DC (2010) EMU’s scoring defense increased from 38 ppg to 44 ppg under Snow, still last in the MAC. In his 2nd year there actually improved to 5th giving up 24ppg. In his last year at EMU back to last in the MAC giving up 38 ppg. The same thing shows for total defense, pass defense and rush defense. A few minor improvements here and there but basically a steady trend of giving up more points and yardage each year.

        So with all of that if Rhule doesn’t act to have a new DC in here next year, I have to question if he has the makings of a good head coach.

      • Agree. Snow needs to go. Agree also that Rhule has struggled mightily this year. I would have never called that timeout before the 3rd and 13 play on the last drive. UCF was content to play for OT there and Walker was gassed. But if people are going to harp on the untimely mistakes and decisions they also need to acknowledge that Rhule has had us in position to win seven of 10 games. This is not a train wreck program. Rhule will learn to manage games better….I know it. 1-9 sucks, but it would suck more if Rhule had not let Walker loose. It all starts with the QB and we got a HC that knows how to use him.

      • This team is absolutely getting better, but the defense is not keeping up with the progress the offense is making. Sure the defense isn’t a trainwreck anymore but it still gave up massive plays, and I don’t think it is getting much better.

      • Defense is the definition of a train wreck. Don’t have a single disruptive player. The program has a good foundation. But it means nothing if Rhule sticks with Snow. He can’t, and won’t.

  8. So I know the comments in the upcoming hours and days will take a shit all over the coaching staff, but I am happy.

    I play video games several times a week with two guys who are both Nebraska fans (one went there, but both grew up in Lincoln). I always have to deal with their teasing about Temple. Even though we lost we still almost did it. To be perfectly honest I thought we were going to be blown out within the first half. I am happy we competed and had a great chance to win.

    Also as a side note I cannot wait to see what PJ looks like in 2 years.

    • You’re happy we almost won and are now 1-8? Sorry dude you’re a loser.

      • Ah there we go. If someone doesn’t share your view they are a loser!

        What did you expect to happen against the #17 ranked team in the country? Did you really expect to win? I was expecting to lose big time. Yes I am happy we almost won. I would rather have this than a 42-3 game that we lose.

        We were 1-8 at the beginning of the day (now 1-9). We have no chance of going to a bowl game or even breaking .500 so at this point I look at encouraging signs for next year. I would say being very close to taking down the #17 ranked team is a good sign. We are 2-77 all time against the top 25 and haven’t beaten a ranked team since 1998. And in the past two seasons we have lost by a combined 138-40 against ranked teams (All stats from the csnphilly article from this morning by Nick Menta)

        So sure you can call me a loser, but I like to look on the bright side of things. Things that can offer a glimmer of hope for next season. There is a lot wrong with the team, but there is also some hope for the next few years.

  9. I understand MR to be a man of his word and I hope this is true. I think we would all be happy if he ‘went home’ after yet another disastrous loss in which he let his players down.

  10. Agree. Snow needs to go. Agree also that Rhule has struggled mightily this year. I would have never called that timeout before the 3rd and 13 play on the last drive. UCF was content to play for OT there and Walker was gassed. But if people are going to harp on the untimely mistakes and decisions they also need to acknowledge that Rhule has had us in position to win seven of 10 games. This is not a train wreck program. Rhule will learn to manage games better….I know it. 1-9 sucks, but it would suck more if Rhule had not let Walker loose. It all starts with the QB and we got a HC that knows how to use him.

    • SU, intent was not to harp on mistakes this but rather for me there is now objective items to look at Rhule’s performance next season. For me dumping Snow is the top off season priority, addition by subtraction

  11. Temple has lost so many Hail Mary games this year that they are designing a Rosary Bead and “T” helmet logo.

  12. What is the buzz about the new AD. I saw him in person, and he wasn’t hired for his George Clooney looks. I hear he has strong financial skills. I guess that is something Bill Bradshaw and Charles Theokas lacked. Temple needs to increase booster donations since it lags most AAC schools.

Leave a Reply

